Hey Harry, Hey Matilda: Book Review

Title: Hey Harry, Hey Matilda
Author: Rachel Hulin
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Publication Date: January 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★

Description

Hey Harry, Hey Matilda was a uniquely written book that drew me in from the get go. I have given this book three out of five stars.

The format of the story is being told by using emails between Harry & Matilda, which at first is difficult to understand. But if you give it time as any good book needs, you begin to get comfortable and are able to notice how the story of the twins unfolds. Throughout the book (takes place over a year) you will discover how Harry & Matilda’s relationship is valued above all others with a few hiccups in their respective lives along the way, which includes a big lies in both of their lives.

What makes this book different from all others in not just the writing style but the fact that I can follow along their journey now that the book is over. Rachel Hulin has created for the reader an Instagram account @heyharryheymatilda and a photography website for Matilda – MatildaGoodman.com. This allows the reader to not wonder what happens after the book is done, which I loved, because as you know a story in the mind of a reader is almost never finished.

The reason for not giving this five stars is some of the content that was written just wasn’t my style, but I give the writer props for touching a subject that most wouldn’t. I would recommend this to any friend or fellow reader because what good does staying in your comfort zone do?!

Favorite Quotes

Hey Harry, 

How can someone have so much power over my emotions and then have so little? It doesn’t make any sense. 

Harry, 

Does anyone know what it is for love Meat Loaf won’t do? I’d sincerely like to know. 

Harry, 

That sounds like a classic Dad fabrication. A dadrication. 

Harry, 

I found some Willa Cather on my old bookshelf. More fitting than Lolita, so I switched books. 

Here’s the stuff:

I was entirely happy. Perhaps we feel like that when we die and become a part of something entire, whether it is sun and air, or goodness and knowledge. At any rate, that is happiness; to be dissolved into something complete and great. 

I feel that way now, Harry. I really do. I’m going to embrace my new truths. 

Until Next Time,

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

