Weekend Happenings

After a crazy busy weekend I am just getting time to sit down to write my post. I don’t know who made up a 5 day work week, but if we could forever have Mondays off I would be a much more productive person. Do any of you feel like you always have so much left to do once the weekend is over? I do ALL.THE.TIME.

This weekend I went with my gal pals to see Swan Lake at the Boston Ballet. It was extremely beautiful watching the way these individuals dance. Not going to lie though we went out to a nice Italian dinner before hand and I was dosing off by the end of the performance. A full belly, and calming music at 930 equal a very tired Rebecca. IMG_5671

We made so much progress on our fire pit and I can’t wait to show you guys. Bobby has worked so hard on it to make sure it is ready for our BBQ this weekend for memorial day/my birthday. We also found out that we have a family of owls that live in one of our pine trees, and this weekend they were out all day trying to teach their baby how to fly…well we wok up this morning to a baby owl on our front steps. SO GOSH DARN CUTE!

After such a busy weekend I was ready to relax on Sunday night and one thing that always helps me relax is baking up a quick batch of cookies, especially now since I have my kitchen aid. Sunday night I decided to make Reese’s Pieces Cookies. #nomnomnom

Reese’s are my favorite snack ever, well they are tied for first place with kit kats. The cookies I made are on the back of the Reese’s Pieces Mini Candy that you find in the baking aisle, but I made a few changes of my own.

What You Need:

2/3 cup shortening

½ cup packed light brown suger

1/3 cup baking truvia

1 egg

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

2 tbsp milk

1 cup rolled oats

1 bag of reese’s pieces mini candies

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Beat shortening, brown sugar, truvia in mixer until light & fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla. In a separate bowl mix together flour, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Add alternatively with milk to sugar mixture.
  4. Stir in Oats & Candy
  5. Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown.
  6. Let cool on cookie sheet or wire rack. (or you can eat them right out of the oven like I do 🙂 )

 

Have A Wonderful Week!

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

